Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post Reply
aryan6380
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:42 pm
My Location: United States

Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by aryan6380 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:10 pm

Hey guys I have a question and it pertains to electrical and my oven.

Originally my oven was at my house worked bitchen. Quick heat up time. I have since moved and have been experiencing excessively long ramp up times. New power at the shop is 3 phase 208. The control box is a Ted's unit. Was hooked up 240.

What can be done to fix it... need help fast

Thank you
Andrew Ryan
8zero Performance Coatings

User avatar
duke46
Posts: 11368
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm
My Location: East Coast NC
Location: New Bern NC
Contact:

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by duke46 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 8:16 pm

Maybe you need to contact ted and just maybe he can help?
All I have said is said just for meanness so I don't have to argue with anyone!

http://www.pcitdad.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

aryan6380
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:42 pm
My Location: United States

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by aryan6380 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:15 pm

Will try him again

User avatar
duke46
Posts: 11368
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm
My Location: East Coast NC
Location: New Bern NC
Contact:

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by duke46 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:31 am

All electric ovens for the most part are wired for 240. 120 per side but with you hooked to 3 phase that I know nothing about then you are getting enough amps out of it per side with you hooked up to 208 so that is why your oven is slower heating up than it was. It needs to be hooked back to 240 if there is any way for you to do it?
Ted does not make a 3 phase oven that I have heard of so he may not be able to help you?

The only person that may be able to advise you is ed1966ss if he is still on here? I will contact him and point him to your post and just maybe he can help?
All I have said is said just for meanness so I don't have to argue with anyone!

http://www.pcitdad.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

ed1966ss
Posts: 1422
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:52 pm
My Location:
Location: Cincinnati Ohio

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by ed1966ss » Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:30 pm

As has been pointed out, your voltage change from 240(standard single phase) to 208 has decreased your wattage by 25%. So if your elements totaled 6k watts at 240 there are now putting out only around 4500. If all you have available is 208/3P then your only option would be to add an element(s).

Since your elements I'm sure are single phase(two connections), then they are still single phase, 2 phases of the 208, not all 3. If you have multiple services at your new location then if connecting the oven back to single phase 240V you would be back to where you were.

Lastly ensure your oven is hooked line to line(208) and not line to neutral as that would only give you 120 volts. Ed

tedsfab
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:38 am
My Location:
Location: tower city pa 17980
Contact:

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by tedsfab » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:38 pm

how did you make out ? i replied back to your question monday afternoon.
Teds fabrication inc.

aryan6380
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:42 pm
My Location: United States

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by aryan6380 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:17 pm

First off thank you to the members who responded. Awesome platform when you have people who know what there doing and are willing to help.
I really am not electrically qualified. Called a friend and he explained a bunch of stuff I didnt understand. Long story short after sending him pictures of the control box and breaker he suggested adding another element. Also sent him your reply Ted.

aryan6380
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:42 pm
My Location: United States

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by aryan6380 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:28 pm

Also can I just change the elements to a higher watt 208v? Found these.

Model TC-44X10016: GE WB44X10016 Range/Oven Bake Replacement Element, 2,560W/3,410W @ 208V/240V

aryan6380
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:42 pm
My Location: United States

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by aryan6380 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:35 pm

Sorry... one more

Model TC-44T10014: GE WB44T10014 Equivalent Range/Oven Bake Replacement Element, 2,855W/3,800W @ 208V/240V

ed1966ss
Posts: 1422
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:52 pm
My Location:
Location: Cincinnati Ohio

Re: Slowee ramp up time after moving

Post by ed1966ss » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:09 am

Ted would be the one to give you the best answer on this, but the considerations are:

Can the relay, wiring, etc. handle another element?
Do the elements you reference give you more or equal wattage to what is originally installed? If not swapping the elements may not solve the problem.

The resistance of the element and its supplied voltage is what determines the output wattage. OHM's law.

Post Reply