SSR or CONTACTOR?

Welcome to Powder 365
HOP2
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:49 pm
My Location: NC

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by HOP2 » Tue May 08, 2018 6:25 pm

Well, I forgot to mention I went ahead and moved the probe out of the wall cavity I made it in, place it on the back wall, roughly 21" from the top right hand corner as this was the best way for it to reach the control box...(picture attached)I haven't made the slants but I'm going to this week...I do have a 6" 310cfm blower ducted in, and it works great
20180501_212059-1512x2016-604x805.jpg
Temp probe
20180501_212059-1512x2016-604x805.jpg (39.24 KiB) Viewed 1184 times

User avatar
duke46
Posts: 11334
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm
My Location: East Coast NC
Location: New Bern NC
Contact:

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by duke46 » Wed May 09, 2018 8:56 am

With any luck at all once you put the pieces in so the heat can get out of your boxes then your oven should work just fine. I went back to your 1st post to see how many elements you were using and you did say 4 so you should have enough to do the job. I am just not clear on the size elements you used? Size does make a difference and the next thing is your power company feed? Most of the time it is 220 and might be a little higher but lots of times it can be lower like 208 and if so that can hurt with the heat up time. Just something you need to check so you will know what to expect. Some guys have had to put in larger elements to help make up the difference when their voltage was lower. Low voltage will also effect a home oven and they will not heat as fast and also will not recover as quick when the door is opened and closed and will be the same with your coating oven.

Hope all goes well and you get your oven working like it should real soon :D
All I have said is said just for meanness so I don't have to argue with anyone!

http://www.pcitdad.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

HOP2
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:49 pm
My Location: NC

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by HOP2 » Thu May 10, 2018 9:32 pm

I am using 2/3410w and 2/2000w heaters, split equally on 2 DP 30A breakers, timed it by the timer exactly 30 mins to reach temperature at 400degrees, checked the voltage at 251v straight to the contactors feeding the elements..hopefully the slants will even everything out :)

WiseAssYT
Posts: 856
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm
My Location: Leaps ahead of you

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by WiseAssYT » Fri May 11, 2018 2:02 pm

Your looking to be in the 17-20 minute range for heat up from ambient temp,when using your oven you’d be better off running it at 450 and turning the heat down after, adding cold parts on top of the recovery of lost heat will cause you issues from radiant heat burn from the elements to staying in the gel stage to long and that just invites more problems.


If you can ,find a way to make more heat , bigger burners or a different heat source.

HOP2
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:49 pm
My Location: NC

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by HOP2 » Fri May 11, 2018 6:02 pm

What about if I switch out the 2000w heaters with 3000w heaters? Because right now I'm pulling 21.5A with the setup I have now, an extra 2000w would put me pulling roughly 25.5A and I have 2 elements per 30A contactor don't wanna push past that 80 % threshhold...run the chance of heating those breakers up, plus I only pulled #12 wire to the elements anyway..either way it's gonna cut time down I'd say

User avatar
duke46
Posts: 11334
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:32 pm
My Location: East Coast NC
Location: New Bern NC
Contact:

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by duke46 » Fri May 11, 2018 8:21 pm

You should have used a little better math and at least ran #8 or #6 depending on how far it was from your panel to your oven. Fire your oven up and have it checked at your panel using an amp clamp to see what the amp draw is then you can go from there.

I lost a 5HP compressor motor using 12 ga and my run was way to long and over time it did do it in :(
All I have said is said just for meanness so I don't have to argue with anyone!

http://www.pcitdad.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

WiseAssYT
Posts: 856
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm
My Location: Leaps ahead of you

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by WiseAssYT » Sat May 12, 2018 11:28 am

HOP2 wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 6:02 pm
What about if I switch out the 2000w heaters with 3000w heaters? Because right now I'm pulling 21.5A with the setup I have now, an extra 2000w would put me pulling roughly 25.5A and I have 2 elements per 30A contactor don't wanna push past that 80 % threshhold...run the chance of heating those breakers up, plus I only pulled #12 wire to the elements anyway..either way it's gonna cut time down I'd say
I do agree it will cut down on the time SOME but I don’t think it’s enough. Your gonna put a set of rims in there and it’s gonna take over an hour.

It’s like using a bic lighter in a toaster oven , it will eventually get hot enough and cook toast, but far from ideal and the toast or most of it won’t be usable, same will be said for your parts, unless all you ever do is solid tone colors and even then you’ll still have issues.
Your gonna lose heat at the door, the seems and as you use the oven it will loosen and you’ll lose even more heat.

Having access to all the proper items I would have over built every aspect of the wiring , always err to the side of caution with wiring thickness when the possibility of over heating them is in play.

HOP2
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:49 pm
My Location: NC

Re: SSR or CONTACTOR?

Post by HOP2 » Wed May 16, 2018 10:45 pm

I think i may be confusing some...I ran aluminum service wire which is like 4AWG, from my main panel on one side of the garage to the other side, maybe 35ft into a subpanel (pictured)
20180512_104615-756x1008.jpg
20180512_104615-756x1008.jpg (91.9 KiB) Viewed 1045 times
from there I ran #10 wire into my main control panel on the oven, (also pictured)
20180429_144514-2016x1512-504x378.jpg
20180429_144514-2016x1512-504x378.jpg (37.39 KiB) Viewed 1045 times
my best guess would be up my element to 3000w switch my 30A breakers with 40A same thing with the contactors, and put me an 80A main breaker at the main panel, that's like 68A, I'm pulling 51A at FLA currently on a 60A..only way I see me getting it to heat faster, which I can do, just more $$$ :x

Post Reply